Competition for Choral Writing

2016 Competition for Choral Writing

Choral Canada encourages and supports the composition of new choral works by emerging Canadian composers.  


2016 Choral Canada Competition for Choral Writingco-sponsored by Cypress Music.

The composer must be a Canadian citizen (or permanent resident).

The winner of the 2016 competition will receive:

  • the Diane Loomer Award of $1500
  • a publishing opportunity through Cypress Music
  • a premiere performance by the 2016 National Youth Choir/Chœur National des Jeunes, conducted by Michael Zaugg, at PODIUM 2016 – Festival & Conference in Edmonton, AB


The entry deadline is November 1, 2015. NOW CLOSED.

Click here for: Competition Regulations and Application Guidelines.

Previous winners of the competition include Donald Patriquin, Lavinia Kell Parker, Brian Tate, Jeff Smallman, Allan Bevan, Michael Unger, Ramona Luengen, David Scott Lytle, Elise Letourneau & Matthew Emery. 

Emery Matthew Emery was selected as the winner of the 2014 Competition for Choral Writing and the recipient of the Diane Loomer Award of $1500. Matthew’s composition, “The Lover’s Chant”, was published by Cypress Music and premiered by the 2014 National Youth Choir/Chœur National des Jeunes, conducted by Hilary Apfelstadt, at PODIUM 2014 in Halifax, NS. 



THANK YOU to our co-sponsor Cypress Choral Music and supporter Dick Loomer!


Diane Loomer

Diane Loomer